Skip to content

Patience is… inconvenient

February 22, 2011
Bang Head Here

I have never been a very patient individual.  If I have a major fault (unlikely, I know) it is that I want to get results immediately.  As a child I wanted to have models of aeroplanes and cars, but I couldn’t wait for the glue to dry when building them.  So my Father had to do them for me and he was, if anything, even less patient than I.

What I have learnt since my childhood through a series of lessons, some easier than others, is that patience is the only option at times.  I still don’t like it and I don’t really find it any easier but I can exercise patience where I have to.  It’s not true patience but a kind of intense battle of wills between my nature and my conscious mind.  The result is the exercise of patience but the state of mind is tumultuous, to say the least.  I do wonder if this was how my Father felt building those models.

I chose to write about patience because I have a couple of things bubbling away that I need to play a long game on but they’re niggling in my mind and patience is becoming more and more inconvenient in terms of my own tangled brain.  The urge to just jump in with my big boots and force issues is starting to grow and I needed to remind myself why patience is needed.  Even when you really, really don’t want to wait.

3 Comments leave one →
  1. Zephanie Thompson permalink
    February 22, 2011 19:20

    I thought we were supposed to get more patient as we get older?!

    • February 22, 2011 19:23

      I’m more effectively patient but I still don’t like to wait. Maybe it’s just me? 🙂

  2. Aunty Mary permalink
    February 26, 2011 14:30

    Your Grandmother used to say: Patience is a virtue, seldom found in women and never in a man. However, your Grandfather must be THE exception to the rule. Shame you didn’t get that gene.

Leave a Reply

